Consistency

Consistency
I don’t know about you but this academic year has brought more changes and things to try than any other before it. It’s only now, during the early days of the summer break (happy holidays by the way) that we really have time to reflect upon the year in its entirety. I tend to get bored so easily so I think about school probably even more than usual!
With a new curriculum and life after levels, this year has been an incredibly challenging one yet I’m sure most of us have tried to embrace it and see the positives (if there are any!) What I’ve noticed, especially being a twitter lover, is that there are so many new ideas to try in the classroom. I always love trying new things in order to vary the learning of my pupils and also to keep me on my toes. However, I couldn’t help but realise that because there are always so many new things to try (most of them great) that there is never enough time to embed them properly and get rid of what doesn’t work.
Has anyone also noticed that there are so many acronyms these days that it’s hard to remember what stands for what? I’ve just completed my 5th year of teaching, have been given increasing amounts of responsibility, CPD and confidence that I really shouldn’t complain. Though it has got me thinking if whether my ‘try as many things as possible’ has had a greater impact or whether it just makes me feel good because I know I’m trying hard to give my pupils every opportunity to succeed.
One of my aims for the next academic year, despite beginning to develop the immersive, problem based learning approach to learning (which means the way I teach may have to change to some degree) is that I want to limit the amount of ideas I try and use them more consistently in order to get the best out of the children to ensure they are fully engaged yet sufficiently challenged at the same time. It’s always refreshing to bounce new ideas off with my colleagues and show them new things to try from Twitter but I want to be more selective about what I think could work well.
What new initiatives or ideas for pedagogy have you tried or rehashed this year? Which ones have stuck and which have you found to be more sparkle than shine? I’d love to hear from you.

5 thoughts on “Consistency

  1. I found last year when I was new to edu twitter that I wanted to try so many new things but I didn’t have the time or that they had less impact because they didn’t embed properly(due to lack of time given before starting the next new thing!). I think you have to resign yourself to the fact that you can’t do all these great ideas all at once and just cherry pick the best of the best. This is always hard when someone you know on twitter posts something that looks really good and you want to do it but just can’t. Learning to say no is a difficult skill but one you have to master quickly! I now use bookmarks, favourites and Pocket to save all the stuff I want to have a closer look at for a later date.
    Gaz

    Like

    • Thanks Gaz!
      I know what you mean…favouriting tweets is oftenly done but need more time to look back over them! Maybe I could make this an aim too. Sometimes it’s hard to know which ideas are the best though until you try them but I definitely need to be selective once I’ve got to know my new class. Have a great summer!

      Like

  2. I agree with Gaz, you have to be selective for your own sanity. Also, to choose what is right for your class/school. It has been a challenging year (I would also include the new SEND Code of Practice to the list of new things to get embedded quickly.
    I have just discovered @Pearltree which let’s you save and order tweetst, files, web pages etc (it comes up as an option when you click on share icon) in folders to look at later…. Much easier than going through favourites.

    Like

Leave a Reply

